## COMMISSIONERS' COURT SPECIAL MEETING AUGUST 23, 2016

# THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF SUTTON

**BE IT REMEMBERED** that on this the 23<sup>rd</sup> day of August, 2016, the Honorable Commissioners' Court of Sutton County, Texas, was duly convened in a Special Meeting in the Sutton County Annex Meeting Room, Sonora, Texas, with the following officers of the Court present to wit:

COUNTY JUDGE	STEVE SMITH
COMMISSIONER	MIKE VILLANUEVA, PRECINCT NO 1
COMMISSIONER	CARL TEAFF, PRECINCT NO 3
COMMISSIONER	FRED PEREZ, PRECINCT NO 4
COUNTY CLERK	RACHEL CHAVEZ DURAN
and an Asia al-Asia and and	along the Harry formation and a standard strength and the standard strength and the standard strength strength of the standard strength st

The Court having duly opened, the following proceedings were had, to-wit: **PRAYER** 

#### 2016-2017 BUDGET ADOPTION

Motion was made by Commissioner Teaff, seconded by Commissioner Villanueva to adopt the 2016-2017 Budget; stating that "This budget will raise more revenue from property taxes than last year's budget by an amount of \$257,143.74, which is a 7% increase from last year's budget. The property tax revenue to be raised from new property added to the tax roll this year is \$3,102,157.87." Commissioner Teaff, Commissioner Villanueva, Commissioner Perez and Judge Smith voted aye. Motion carried unanimously.

#### TAX RATE DISCUSSION

Motion was made by Commissioner Villanueva, seconded by Commissioner Perez, to set the property tax rate for the General fund at \$0.566659 and FMFC at \$0.113468; the overall proposed tax rate being \$0.680127. Commissioner Teaff, Commissioner Villanueva, Commissioner Perez and Judge Smith voted yes. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **EFFECTIVE TAX RATE PUBLIC HEARING**

The court agreed to schedule the proposed tax rate hearings for September 9th and September 13th at 9 am.

**PUBLIC COMMENT** 

No action

### **COURT ADJOURNED**

Motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Perez and seconded by Commissioner Teaff. Motion carried

unanimously. ATTEST: Joan RACHEL CHAVEZ DURAN, COUNTY CLERK

APPROVED:

STEVE SMITH, COUNTY JUDGE

l'illamera MIKE VILLANUEVA, COMMISSIONER PCT. 1

ABSENT JOHN WADE, COMMISSIONER PCT. 2 CARL TEAFF COMMISSIONER PCT. 3

FRED PEREZ, COMMISSIONER PCT. 4